Centenary College Leadership

Dr. Barbara-Jayne Lewthwaite, President of Centenary CollegeCentenary College President

Dr. Barbara-Jayne Lewthwaite has been a valued member of the Centenary College community for more than 20 years, serving in a variety of positions.  She began her career at the institution as adjunct assistant professor of Business, from 1985 to 1988.  In 1988, Dr. Lewthwaite was hired as the assistant professor of Business.  In 1994, she was promoted to associate professor of Business.

In 1999, she transferred from the Business Department to the Education Department, where she served as associate professor of Education.  In 2001, she became a tenured faculty member and was promoted to professor of Education.  In 2003, Dr. Lewthwaite became a member of the College’s Executive Staff when she was named vice president for Academic Programs.  She was promoted again in 2006, to vice president for Academic Affairs and chief academic officer, then named acting chief operating officer in 2008.

Dr. Lewthwaite gained a wealth of corporate experience prior to her career at Centenary College.  Previous positions include training specialist at American International Group, Equal Employment Opportunity program manager at Schering-Plough Corporation, manager of personnel at American Reinsurance Company and manager of Management Development and Training at Great Lakes Carbon Corporation.  She was also an independent consultant in the areas of supervisory and management training and development.  She holds a BBA from Pace University, as well as a MBA and Ed.D from Saint John’s University.

Centenary College Board of Trustees

Wolfgang Gstattenbauer - Chair (Class of 1997)
Arden Davis Melick - Chair Emeritus (Class of 1960)
Kenneth L. Hahn - Vice Chair
Norman Worth - 2nd Vice Chair
Christopher Treanor - 3rd Vice Chair
Lucinda Thomas Embersits - Secretary (Class of 1959)
David Johnson - Treasurer
David A. Lackland - Trustee Emeritus
Dr. Hae-Jong Kim - Trustee Emeritus
Harris F. Smith* - Trustee Emeritus
Ellen Baars-Banks (Class of 1993)
Susan F. Bateman, Esq.
Audrey Bonaparte-Watts (Class of 1978)
Michael T. Catapano (Class of 1992)
Jason C. Coe
David D. Dallas
Tilly-Jo Emerson
Rev. Dr. Frank L. Fowler, III
Elizabeth Friday-Skoda (Class of 1993)
Rochelle Makela-Goodman (Class of 1997)
Michael B. Lavery, Esq.
Dr. Joann LaPerla-Morales
Raymond Nisivoccia
Rosalind Reichard
Jim Salerno
Bishop John R. Schol
M. Alden Siegel 
Orin R. Smith
James D. Stryker
Linda Van Winkle Watkins (Class of 1962)
Valerie A. Wilson (Class of 1962)


To top